Do overs

Sometimes the only thing scarier than trying for the first time is falling short then trying again.

Last summer Luke and I ended our only bike excursion squished between dismantled bicycle parts folded into a teeny rescue car. We didn’t quite make it to the first planned rest stop before I regretted our agreeing to the trek in the first place.

Last week we tried it again.

This time it was the much anticipated fifth grade bike trip, our school’s rite of passage from little kid to middle schooler.

And this boy rocked it!

  

Luke led the pack of moms, dads, teachers and kids from first turn of the pedal, weathering wind, rain and even some hail along the 15 mile ride.

And just like that…a middle schooler was made.

I am so proud of him, but more importantly he is proud of himself.

I wish all the do-overs ended so happily. Depending on my mood, I’d say life has either been very kind or very cruel in the do over opportunities it has presented me over the years. I’ve needed a lot of little ones, a handful of  BIG ones and a few that make-up the difference between life and death (or at least feel like they do).

And by the grace of God..they just keep coming.

The faithful love of the Lord never ends! His mercies never cease. Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh every morning. Lamentations 3:22-23

One thought on “Do overs

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.