Treasure in the dark

And I will give you treasures in the darkness… “ Isaiah 45:3

⁣My life’s work is in cemeteries. Where people live in dirt between the graves. Many are ill. All our materially very poor. And with traumatized children, survivors of hell itself. ⁣

⁣Because of them I know this…darkness and beauty coexist. ⁣

⁣The reality of one does not negate, but somehow accentuates the other. ⁣

⁣Hardship is holy ground and sacred things happen there. Sacred things are happening everywhere. ⁣

⁣I walk in freedom when I run TOWARD pain. Mine, yours and the world’s. ⁣

⁣I get one life. I’ll never do it perfectly but I was made for this.⁣

⁣What: To advocate the worth and dignity of every human person like they are my own family. ⁣

⁣How: Through every interaction, no matter how small. With whatever I’ve got, it’s enough for now. ⁣

⁣Who: Start by doing for ONE what I wish I could do for everyone. ⁣

⁣Where: I’ll start from here and go from there. ⁣

⁣Why: Heavenly help is often wrapped in human skin. We are evidence of God to each other. And God is love. ⁣

⁣When: Today. Always today. ⁣

One thought on “Treasure in the dark

  1. Thank you Valerie.By diving into your heart, my heart is encouraged to continue to live in the light in the midst of the darkness. Bonnie

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.